Grand Alliance, NDA poised for retaining their seats in Bihar by-polls

Grand Alliance, NDA poised for retaining their seats in Bihar by-polls

RJD's Sarfaraz Alam, son of deceased MP Taslimuddin, who was trailing in initial rounds of counting, has further consolidated his lead margin in Araria Lok Sabha seat where counting of votes is still underway.

All the seats had witnessed polling on Sunday.

In Phulpur, Samajwadi Party's Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel is leading by 15,713 votes with 1,22,247 votes followed by BJP's Kaushlendra Singh Patel with with 1,06,534 votes after 11th round of counting.

In Bihar's Araria, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and the Congress are pitted against the BJP-Janata Dal (United) alliance and it's the first big test for Nitish Kumar after he walked out of the Grand Alliance past year to team up with the BJP.

Araria: In Araria, BJP's Pradeep Kumar Singh was in the lead after one round of counting. Final result is expect by afternoon. The BJP is hopeful of retaining the Bhabua Assembly seat riding on a sympathy wave for Anand Bhushan Pandey, whose death at the age of 48, necessitated the bypoll. There were 14 candidates in the Jehanabad assembly bye-election in the electoral fray. Counting of votes for the three seats in Bihar began amid tight security around 8 am today.

Trump considering Rick Perry to take over VA, new report says
Trump has been angry with Shulkin, the official said, but is known to float staffing changes without always following through. The report mentions that Trump believes Sulkin has become a "distraction to the department's work".

Phulpur, a seat earlier represented by former Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru was won for the first time by the BJP in 2014 when Keshav Prasad Maurya, a former mayor of Varanasi, won the seat with a margin of 3.76 lakh votes.

Fifty-seven percent votes were recorded in Araria while the voter turnout was 54.03 percent and 50.06 percent in Jehanabad and Bhabhua respectively.

The bypolls will also test the leadership skills of RJD's Tejashwi Yadav, 28, who has led the opposition campaign as his father and party chief Lalu Prasad is in jail in a corruption case. In Jehanabad, the battle is between RJD's Sujay Yadav and JD (U)'s Abhiram Sharma.

Let us tell you that in this tired of the Arriya Lok Sabha by-election, there is a direct fight between BJP Pradip Singh and RJD's Sarfaraz Alam.

We, at Latestly, bring to you the latest election results from all Lok Sabha segments in Uttar Pradesh. Gorakhpur is the parliamentary constituency and stronghold of Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath.

Related Articles